Is English important in Chile?

Postby mauricio » Sat Apr 03, 2010 3:35 pm

I am originally from Chile, but have lived in the US since I was very, very young. I now consider (and prefer) English as my first language. I can still speak Spanish, but my writing and reading are only mediocre. I have an undergraduate degree in Computer Science and a Masters degree in Business. I have worked for 2 of the largest American banks: Citibank and JP Morgan Chase so I have years of experience in large computer networks with global corporations.

My question is this, when I talk to people in Chile, they tell me that with my experience and language abilities that I would find a job without any trouble, making good money. I also have a friend that is an Electronics Engineer who tells me that if he could speak English, his salary would double.

With the influx of foreign investment in Chile, has English become that important that someone can make a decent living by having the ability to speak English alone?

In your experience as gringos there, has anyone offered you a job, just because they need someone that can communicate in English??

Any thoughts?

P.S.: I have an offer from an American company for $2 MM CLP a month. Can someone give me an equivalent to a US salary (Not looking for the exchange rate, but rather standard of living equivalent)
mauricio

Re: Is English important in Chile?

Postby allegro » Sat Apr 03, 2010 4:54 pm