Translation rates

General job offers and work related issues in Chile.
jgb78uk

Translation rates

Post by jgb78uk » Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:35 pm

Hi all,
Anyone have any idea of rates of pay for translating documents.
I freelance to a company (teaching) and they may have some work for me in translating company documents (job functions)
but I've no idea of how people charge.
Is it by the word, by the hour, or by the grace of God?

I've got limited experience so far of translating technical documents... but the thing is I hhave never actually charged until now...

Help.

Jamie

helibel

Re: Translation rates

Post by helibel » Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:49 pm

i haven't a clue but it should be easy to figure out since there are on line sites that offer that service. A bad computer translation is free but if you want a human they charge. babelfish.com is one but I'm sure there are dozens.

Damo

Post by Damo » Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:58 am

Try asking around at proz.com for some information on rates in Chile. 12 US cents p/word would be a minimum rate for corp translations.

eeuunikkeiexpat
Location: Megalith of unknown origin near my digs, south V Region coast

Post by eeuunikkeiexpat » Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:54 pm

Anyone have a current feel for the outside of Santiago CLP price for Spanish to English translations:

(1) per word
(2) document (like a resume)
(3) other non tech/legal/med document

:?:
Generally, just a SPAM KILLER. You are on your own in this forum. My personal mission here is done.

BUT when necessary, by way of ridicule and truth revelation we shalt do war.

--eeuunikkeiexpat

eeuunikkeiexpat
Location: Megalith of unknown origin near my digs, south V Region coast

Post by eeuunikkeiexpat » Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:15 pm

Oh yeah. :D
Generally, just a SPAM KILLER. You are on your own in this forum. My personal mission here is done.

BUT when necessary, by way of ridicule and truth revelation we shalt do war.

--eeuunikkeiexpat

admin
Site Admin