TEFL certification - is it really necessary?

General job offers and work related issues in Chile.
Lunkey

TEFL certification - is it really necessary?

Post by Lunkey » Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:34 pm

is any certification really required for getting a job teaching english in Santiago?

I am getting various information and misinformation regarding the process.... get a CELTA, get any general TEFL certification, don't get anything, do Berlitz, don't do Berlitz....

It is becoming increasingly difficult discovering what is the best process for moving to Santiago and wanting to get a job teaching english, and in the end I obviously want to be as best prepared as possible to put me in the best situation possible.

any advice would be greatly appreciated!! :D

jgb78uk

Re: TEFL certification - is it really necessary?

Post by jgb78uk » Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:34 pm

I have been teaching English in Santiago for about 8 months so far.
I have a TEFL which I got by post in the UK before I came to Chile (really not worth the paper it's written on).
I worked for the first 5 months at the biggest and most expensive English Language institute (it begins with a 'T' and they are now doing television adverts) and although being a somewhat valuable experience in apprenticeship terms it was otherwise horrible. Exceptionally low pay (typically $200.000 pesos for 120 hours in a month), cold, hard, expressionless bosses who couldn't give a toss about you, constant coercion to work more hours and literally zero grammar or teacher training throughout.

And this, supposedly, is the most 'prestigious' institute in Santiago and in Chile.
They employ you, rape you and forget about you. They are making shed loads of money by charging extortionate fees to students who, strangely, don't seem to care and partly by exploiting gringos straight off the plane who have nowhere else to go.