Newbies thinking of moving to Chile

All things related to Moving to Chile, tips, tricks, FAQS. Here is where to exchange information between those that have already moved and those planning to move to Chile so you do not need to learn the hard way. Please also check Living in Chile forum for related information.
BrendaandTed

Newbies thinking of moving to Chile

Post by BrendaandTed » Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:04 pm

Hi,
Let me introduce ourselves, Steve aka Ted, and Brenda.
Over the coming days I will digest all the information on this board, but there are few issues which I ought to air because they will stop things in their tracks - so I apologise if there are already answers elsewhere but if anyone can comment on these concerns I would be grateful.

We are both coming from the UK, me 63 and Bren 51. That's the main issue.
Let me hasten to say we are both hard working and I for one do not intend retiring anytime soon.
I work in the construction industry (back office stuff) and Bren can turn her talents to anything.
We do have a certain amount of money - by no means a pension but, we both would wish to work in order to fund/prepare for that.
What sounds a good idea right now is starting up a business, like opening an Indian restaurant or importing produce, Indian tea for example. (our daughter works in India).

The other thing is that I would be concerned about is the availability of medicines. I have two stable conditions; high blood pressure and diabetes. The meds I am on (and have been for several years) are readily available in the UK. I understand more prescription meds are available in your pharmacies than in the UK, would this availability be true for the meds for these conditions?

Regards,

steve

Space Cat

Re: Newbies thinking of moving to Chile

Post by Space Cat » Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:54 pm

Welcome!