Why is it so hard to get a job in Chile?

General job offers and work related issues in Chile.
Lori

Why is it so hard to get a job in Chile?

Post by Lori » Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:44 pm

I have spent hours looking over old posts trying to find the answer to this question. The economy is growing and things look good for Chile but I have seen so many family members and friends looking for jobs and having a hard time finding one- chileans and foreigners, educated and uneducated. I retired to Chile 5 years ago and I am still learning how things work here. I have people ask me - Will I be able to find a job in Chile and I tell them don't count on it! But I can't tell them why!

eeuunikkeiexpat
Location: Megalith of unknown origin near my digs, south V Region coast

Re: Why is it so hard to get a job in Chile?

Post by eeuunikkeiexpat » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:04 pm

And lower level professional wages have been pressed down and requirements like English and University have become more "standard" (no excluyente to excluyente) for those same positions.

I do not see how this can continue playing out as the cost of living in Santiago like housing keep going up and up.
Generally, just a SPAM KILLER. You are on your own in this forum. My personal mission here is done.

BUT when necessary, by way of ridicule and truth revelation we shalt do war.

--eeuunikkeiexpat

Space Cat

Post by Space Cat » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:14 pm

Pitutos?

fraggle092

Post by fraggle092 » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:34 pm

If I had to guess, I would say that it's because Chile is an exporter of raw materials
in an out-of-the-way corner of the world.
None of its exports are particularly skilled-labour-intensive nor technically advanced.

So there are not that many decent opportunities in the private sector.
The few good jobs that do exist are allocated through pituto rather than than on merit.
Helps to have a Freemason in the family as well.