Hello (from a soon to be student in Santiago)

Introduce yourself, discover who else is here, and get news and information about the forum. Most of all, tell us what Chile means for you.

Moderator: eeuunikkeiexpat

Echelon

Hello (from a soon to be student in Santiago)

Post by Echelon » Thu May 24, 2012 4:23 am

Hello everyone! I stumbled across this site on Google I think. My name's Casey and I'm a 21 year old who currently lives in Ohio but will be leaving for Buenos Aires and Santiago this Monday. I'm in my third year of Spanish at school and will be studying abroad at Universidad Alberto Hurtado en Santiago for 6 weeks. The first week of our arrival to South America (14 other students are coming and two professors, one of which is from Santiago) we will be spending a week in Buenos Aires and after that we will move in with our host families in Santiago where we will remain for 6 weeks.

I don't really know what else to say. I'm very excited and anxious. I've been to Ireland and Canada before but that's it, I've never been to somewhere that didn't have English as a primary language and I'm a little nervous haha. I have some chicano and Spanglish speaking gringo friends out in Arizona whom I've practiced some bastardized gringo Spanish with but other than that I don't know anyone who speaks Spanish regularly so I'm not too fluent in it (though my hope is that while immersed it will "click" for me). Turns out my host family lives in Las Condes (Renato Sánchez street) which is a very well-to-do area from what I have read. Anyway, just saying hi, and if anyone has any advice that'd be great. Thanks!

EDIT: Actually, I think my home is in Providencia, even though when my instructor gave me the address she put Las Condes. Google Maps says it's in Providencia though.

momof3

Re: Hello (from a soon to be student in Santiago)

Post by momof3 » Thu May 24, 2012 6:34 am