Buying an apartment - recommended down payment

General topics related to Living in Chile
for31

Buying an apartment - recommended down payment

Post by for31 » Fri Mar 05, 2021 12:41 pm

Hi All ! Asking for a word of wisdom :) I am a permanent resident in Chile and I would like to buy an apartment in Santiago. I am wondering what would be the recommended amount of down payment on a mortgage ? 5%, 10%, 20% , any other number ? What would you recommend to pay attention to ? Any advice is highly appreciated !

Britkid

Re: Buying an apartment - recommended down payment

Post by Britkid » Sat Mar 06, 2021 12:10 am

It depends. If you have a million dollars, why not put down 100%!

Most people usually put down the majority of their money, like if they have 50 million savings they typically put 30 or 40 million on the deposit because they want to live in a better house or think the prices will go up.

20% is a solid bet usually.

In 2019 my bank told me I would have to put 20% minimum, but this year they are offering me deals where I only put down 10%.

By the way, you know it might be hard to get a bank to give a mortgage to you if you are a foreigner, especially if you don´t have a record in Chile of earnings and financial records generally here.

Jamers41

Post by Jamers41 » Sat Mar 06, 2021 10:06 am

For at least the last several years banks here have generally required 20%, supposedly there are a few now that will finance up to 90% but it seems odd to me that banks these days (during the uncertain Covid era) would be taking greater risks.

So I would say 20%.

I myself currently have our house for sale and hope to be moving to a new one where we will put down over 50%......fingers crossed.

admin
Site Admin

Post by admin » Sat Mar 06, 2021 11:35 am

how much you put down, along with how long the mortgage is, also to a great degree determines your interest rate.
Spencer Global Chile: Legal, relocation, and Investment assistance in Chile.