How to become fluent in Spanish

General topics related to Living in Chile
andreas.brill

How to become fluent in Spanish

Post by andreas.brill » Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:10 am

OMG, it's been two years since I started learning Spanish! :oops: Sadly, I am still far from speaking fluently, yet even a level which I would feel comfortable with. My native language is German. I also speak English and French, both learned in school :idea: . I am trying very hard to become fluent in Spanish, I tried the following:
  • Duolingo (made it to 20.000 xp in Spanish :lol: )
  • private teacher for about two months, one hour - twice a week
  • speaking in public whenever I can (e.g. at La Vega, restaurants, cafes, offices, etc.)
  • watched Netflix only in Spanish with Spanish subtitles
  • a couple of lessons on SpanishPod101 and other podcasts
As I said, I am still far away from being fluent but I won't give up. I am looking forward to reading what worked for you ;-)

41southchile

Re: How to become fluent in Spanish

Post by 41southchile » Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:58 am

andreas.brill wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:10 am

I am looking forward to reading what worked for you ;-)
Being 17 when I learnt it, :lol:
I know that doesn't help, but I have heard there is still a doorway open in the brain at that age that makes it easier. Apparently it gets harder as you get older.
Watching programmes in Spanish and listening to it spoken a lot are the best ways I think though. All the best, takes time and practice, oh getting mildly drunk and talking to people helps too :D .
“Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.”

andreas.brill

Post by andreas.brill » Fri Jan 15, 2021 9:09 am

41southchile wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:58 am
andreas.brill wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 8:10 am

I am looking forward to reading what worked for you ;-)
Being 17 when I learnt it, :lol: