Selling Second Hand in Barrio Alto

General topics related to Living in Chile
Britkid

Selling Second Hand in Barrio Alto

Post by Britkid » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:15 pm

I would like to sell some of my books, CDs and DVDs, and other assorted items second hand. I think it needs to be barrio alto because most of them are in English. Even some of the DVDs do not have Spanish option. Is there somewhere you can go and setup a table. Preferably an organized feria or a location in central Providencia with a lot of foot traffic. Another option might be to find some event specific to ex-pats.

I had a look on facebook for half an hour yesterday but didn't find anything that seemed right. But I'm not very good at facebook.

Is it legal to just set up a table anywhere and start selling? If no, how long do you think I could get away with it before I get shut down. :) Maybe that would make an interesting experiment. Presumably if you were caught you would just be told to stop rather than actually charged with an offence? My guess is that you would probably get away with it forever in some places but not in barrio alto? OK, I probably shouldn't do that.

Do you think used CDs and DVDs have any value still? Maybe 1000 pesos each or less? Or have we reached the point where they've become worthless like VHS before them as people prefer to download online?

I'm not really trying to make money here though so much as I'd rather see things get used than tossed in the trash. If anyone sells English language books/CDs/DVD or wants to try it and has a location to do it I could give away some things for free.

Also if you have any reccomendations for good shops and areas of Santiago for buying second hand as well let me know. However, I'm more interesting in selling.