toll roads

General topics related to Living in Chile
nikotromus

toll roads

Post by nikotromus » Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:29 pm

I just got back from a trip to Talca from Santiago. Wife and I spent $24 American dollars in tolls round trip (4 tolls each way - total pain in the butt) AND spent over double the cost for a gallon of gas compared to the USA? I am confused. If the high cost in gas comes from taxes, then shouldn't the state have the money to build toll free roads without the corporations charging us corporate taxes util the end of time?

Sorry I am new in Chile and super confused about the cost.... of EVERYTHING (except oranges, damn they are cheap and delicious here)

katml412

Re: toll roads

Post by katml412 » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:17 pm

Welcome to Chile! :lol:

Britkid

Post by Britkid » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:37 pm

I am from the UK, so the gas/petrol actually seems cheap!

It seems to me that the taxes in Chile are very low on a % basis per person, plus that will go even lower when you consider that the average salary is lower, and toll roads are unsurprising given this.

The government probably needs the money from the toll road to finance the next road. Probably the petrol money is not enough to cover it, or it's needed elsewhere.
In 2014/2015 I blogged about my life in Chile. http://web.archive.org/web/201601121940 ... age_id=268

Rhodolite

Post by Rhodolite » Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:59 pm

I've been told that Rt. 5 tolls are concessions sold (leased?) by the Chilean government to for-profit businesses. I've also heard - although I find it difficult to believe - that when lines of vehicles waiting to pay exceed a certain length tolls must be suspended and vehicles permitted to pass through without payment. I don't mind toll roads where there is a roughly equivalent alternative, but in the section of Rt 5 mentioned, there is no alternative.

wineman12

Post by wineman12 » Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:49 pm