Expired tourist visa AND lost tourist card, what to do?

General topics related to Living in Chile
Ashora

Expired tourist visa AND lost tourist card, what to do?

Post by Ashora » Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:07 pm

Hi all,

I find myself in a bit of a predicament, I've been traveling in Chile for almost 2 months past the expiration of my tourist visa, figuring I could just pay the fine when I leave the country (as I understand, it's around 35.000 CLP for up to 100 days). The issue is I've now lost my tourist card, (stupid, I know) and will require a replacement to leave Chile.

I'm wondering about the order of operations in doing this, I worry that if I go to replace my tourist card with an expired visa, I will run into issues. Or vise versa, if I go to pay my fine without the tourist card, will I have problems? Do I need to pay the fine first and then get the card, or is the order unimportant?

I will be leaving Chile by plane, I've heard it's possible to replace the tourist card at the airport in case of emergency, but again, I'm not sure this will be possible because of my expired visa (would this be an issue with a paid and stamped fine document?). And do I need to replace the tourist card at the Extranjeria or international police office? I've seen lots of differing information.

What do I do? Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm completely lost here.

marti
Location: Another project. Another country. And besides, the wench is dead.,

Re: Expired tourist visa AND lost tourist card, what to do?

Post by marti » Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:58 pm

You're going to jail.
La mitad de eficaz. El doble de caro. El triple de complicado. Un país de cuarto.

texasdiver

Post by texasdiver » Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:18 pm