Forum Moderator

Anything related to legal issues, immigration, problems, regulations, tax issues, or any other law or legal related problem in Chile. Moderated By A Chilean Attorney.

Moderator: Zvalenzuela

Zvalenzuela

Forum Moderator

Post by Zvalenzuela » Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:20 am

Hello,

I will be your forum moderator for legal issues in Chile. Any questions at all about Law in Chile, I would be happy to answer. Besides being an attorney, I am also Chilean and will do my best to help out on the more general topics of Chile. Still in this forum, please keep the topic to legal related issues.

Zvalenzuela :)

El Zorro

Re: Forum Moderator

Post by El Zorro » Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:07 pm

Since this is a legal question....

Does the translation of documents need to be done by specific people in Chile, or can documents be translated outside of the country? I know quite competent translators here in the US.

admin
Site Admin

Post by admin » Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:09 pm

Depends on what you need translated. There are certified translators in Chile. For example, if you need something to go in to court you are most likely going to want a certified translator.

I would also caution that if it is something to do with specific specialty, chances are you are going to want a translator with experience in that. For example, legal documents or engineering specifications. Typically where the details really matter, and a twist of the phrase one way or the other will count.

We have a very good certified translator / interpreter on our team. She recently did the live simultaneous translation of the Oscars in Chile (think it is her 3rd year), and has been the interpreter for the Dali lama and Microsoft executives among many others in Chile. She is best at corporate and contract negotiations.
Spencer Global Chile: Legal, relocation, and Investment assistance in Chile.
For more information visit: https://www.spencerglobal.com