visa for paid internship

Anything related to legal issues, immigration, problems, regulations, tax issues, or any other law or legal related problem in Chile. Moderated By A Chilean Attorney.

Moderator: Zvalenzuela

Jolly

visa for paid internship

Post by Jolly » Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:37 pm

Hello everyone,

unfortunately I have some problem for which I could not find any suitable thread in this forum so far.

The problem is as follows:

I am a student in Germany and I want to do an internship in Chile starting in september. Luckily (or maybe I am not so lucky after all) I got something nice and they want to pay me for it. So I asked the embassy in Germany what kind of visa I needed and I managed to get all the stuff they want except for an notarial confirmed invitation from that company in Chile. But they have not managed to send this one yet and if not by some magic wonder an owl carries it trough my window in the next days I think it is too late to get my visa in time. The supposed duration is 4-6 weeks.

So I come to the conclusion that I should apply for it in Chile directly. So what do you think would be best? Is a "visa sujeta en contrato"?

What I do not exactly understand is how I get the possibility to work with the visa while it is still being worked at (en tramité). Do I need to fill in another blank? Do I need to go to some other government institution in my restrict (because I am not going to work in Santiago) in order to get it?

And let us assume my visa is finally granted (which takes about 2-3 months if my information is right) how much time do I have to get to Santiago and gather it?

What about the RUT? I can get it with the tourist visa but is there anything else to do about it when I get the visa granted?

Maybe someone of you got some answers or some other considerable piece of advice. I would be very thankful about any information you can give me,

Jolly

admin
Site Admin

Re: visa for paid internship

Post by admin » Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:42 pm