Chilean Driver's License

Anything related to legal issues, immigration, problems, regulations, tax issues, or any other law or legal related problem in Chile. Moderated By A Chilean Attorney.

Moderator: Zvalenzuela

mt208

Chilean Driver's License

Post by mt208 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:56 am

Its harder than getting residency!!!
I got my temporary residency from Chilean consulate in New York in less than one month. I have driver's license from New York for 3 years, also have a drivers license from China for one year.
there are three required documents for Chilean Driver's License:
1. Certificado de Estudios equivalente o superior a 8 Basico Chileano.
2. Cedula de Identidad de Extranjeros Vigente
3. Certificado de Domicilio

Just three documents, Sounds easy?
NOT AT ALL !!!!!!

I went to the Licencias de Conducir office 4 times.
I have my high school diploma Apostilled in New York, translated by Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores. This is considered the most annoying and complicated step. I'm glad I finished it in 20 days. (My friend in New York helped me have my diploma apostilled in NY. and mailed it to me. And the translation in Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores took around 2 weeks).

Today, I'm done, i'm done trying. she told me:
1. New York apostilled documents are not accepted. But if apostilled in other states of US would be.(WTF???)
2. I can't use my diploma to prove I finished 8th grade. I have to use my transcript. Which means I have to redo all the stuff with my transcript in States other than New York. (Did New York government do something that pissed Chilean government off?)
Finally, because I'm still learning Spanish, my Spanish is not that good, I did not understand something she said, because she speaks so damn fast. Then the lady told me, you should not try to get a driver's license when you can't understand Spanish. (I learned Spanish from scratch for two months, how about give me some time? and wow!!)

Anyone else has similar experience?

mt208