Is it hard to find work in Chile for dual citizens?

Postby ColoColoUSA » Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:46 pm

Hello all, I am a Chilean American who is fascinated with the idea of working in my parent's home country. Life in the US is getting tougher and tougher, and while I am sure Chile is no better, I feel like I need a change of pace.

My aunt who works in the Chilean Consulate recommended that I should apply for dual citizenship and look for work there. I speak Spanish fluently, read it perfectly, although I am still working on writing it efficiently. I graduated from a top school in the US and am currently in a masters program at another top school. Once I receive my masters I plan on applying for dual citizenship.

How hard would it be for me to locate good work? I don't have the best work experience, (mostly research in public policy at my university) but by the time I finish my degree and apply for dual citizenship I should have considerable work experience in real estate, housing, project management etc. My goal would be to apply to the Ministry of Housing in Chile.

Please advice.
ColoColoUSA

Re: Is it hard to find work in Chile for dual citizens?

Postby ColoColoUSA » Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:50 pm

To add to the post above, one of the qualms I had with moving to Chile after I finished my undergrad was the rising crime. Just how bad is it? I haven't been back to Chile since 2001 and the place seemed fine, but looking at the news and hearing from family members they keep telling me that delinquency and petty crime there is high.
ColoColoUSA

Postby Tombi » Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:56 pm