Permission to sell bread, sir?

Postby moravagine » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:21 pm

I have perfected a few bread recipes and am going to take a shot at selling some loaves.

I have already sold some to friends and family to excellent reviews, and would now like to take my product to the rest of the outside world.

What kind of permission will I need to legally sell bread in public places or to restaurants?

I'm a card-holding temporary resident with permission to work.

ps. Parties interested in rosemary focaccia, toasted sesame sandwich bread or sourdough around the V region may PM me :wink:
moravagine

Re: Permission to sell bread, sir?

Postby jehturner » Wed Nov 23, 2011 12:49 am

Don't get too excited. The brewery nearest here told me it took them 2 years to get their permits...
jehturner

Postby zer0nz » Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:07 am

Hey, you stole this idea from my head, this is on my list of get rich quick schemes for chile, Good luck, wish you were in santiago selling this bread!

pd. its legal until you get caught and told otherwise!
zer0nz

Postby griffin » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:43 am

For a long-term business proposition, I'm sure getting a permit would be a very good idea. Just for testing the market though, another thought:

Every Friday a guy on a motorcycle turns up in our school parking lot as the students are getting out, he is selling loaves of fresh bread. The parents of students are often selling fruit, nuts, vegetables, olive oil etc. out of the backs of their cars. I guarantee no permits are involved here....but try not to show up at one of the schools that have a carabinero out front helping kids across the crosswalk (although this is usually a morning thing). And bring lots of change, no one ever has any...

Good luck! Wish you could come to our school.
griffin

Postby Groschi » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:45 am

I think moravagine was talking about BREAD not BEER, its not exactly the same. :wink:
PISCO ELQUI: